It’s a Marathon…Not a Sprint

mns

In the life changing game, as with any other game, to be honest, most people want instant gratification.  We want instant change.  And I’m no exception.  The first four weeks on IP went really well for me.  I was in the right mental state.  I was excited.  And the pounds and inches were melting off of me and a very fast pace.  My first month’s stats were the proof!

But the past two weeks, my progress has slowed to a ridiculous pace, and it’s been really hard to stay motivated.  Let’s see:

  1. I friggin gained 0.6lb last week, and my weight was exactly the same this week.
  2. I lost 0.5″ on my thigh last week and another 0.5″ on my thigh this week.  And did not lose inches anywhere else.
  3. I have completely lost my appetite, and the idea of eating anything is less than desirable.  so much so that I skipped a few meals this past week just because I couldn’t be bothered to eat.
  4. My head is just not in the game, and I’m just so bored with this diet, yet it’s not like I want to cheat.  I just don’t care at all.

Why is this happening?  Why has my enthusiasm waned from how it was when I started?  Why have my numbers stalled?  Why have I completely lost my appetite?

My coach this morning didn’t have much in the way of wisdom to share or tips to try.  And because I didn’t eat all of my protein last week, the only advice was, “Get all your food in, and we’ll see where we are next week,” and of course the “Have you discussed this with the doctor?”

Trying to schedule these appointments as a working person is hard enough as it is, so adding doctor appointments on top of it can get to be overwhelming.  I think what it boils down to is this:  it’s a marathon, not a sprint.

I’m going to have off days.  I’m going to have off weeks.  As my blood sugar regulates, so do my hormones, and perhaps that is the reason for my shift in mood and appetite.  This diet is hard, really hard, and my mental state is going to take a beating now and again, and what hit me this morning on my drive from my doc’s office to my work office was, the old me would just give up.  The new me goes, “Well, hell, not the bet week, but at least you didn’t gain!  And let’s get back on track for next week.”  And that, right there, is huge progress.

I’m a firm believer in the fact that God doesn’t give you any more than you can handle.  And I’ve quit, packed up and run, or walked away from so many diets, so many healthy eating plans, and every attempt I’ve started to get myself to a better health.   I’m not going to walk away from this one.

I need to remember that I’m human, and will have weak moments, and I need to be ok with that.  By ticking with this, especially after the last two weeks is a success in itself.  And I’m really proud of me for that!

Change doesn’t come over night.  Doesn’t even come over a few months, when it comes to correcting the years of damage I’ve put on my body.  And if I’m going to use IP to permanently make changes, there are a few things I need to accept:

  1. Be patient, both with the process and with myself.
  2. Accept that there are going to be weeks where the numbers aren’t helpful, and that should be motivating and not deterring.
  3. I’m in this alone.  My coach only knows what she knows, and everyone is different. I have to listen to my body and focus on blood sugar readings and how I feel.
  4. The scale doesn’t lie, but it’s not the only factor.
  5. Attitude is a factor of success.  If I’m negative about the process, the results will also be negative.

First major hiccup, and I can get through it.  I can do this.  I can see this through to the end.  It’s a marathon…not a sprint.

Ciao for now,

M

One thought on “It’s a Marathon…Not a Sprint

Leave a Reply

